Bengal polls: Day before voting in Joypur, 3 injured in blast at TMC office; parties blame one other

Three people were injured in a blast at the Trinamool Congress (TMC) office in the Joypur area of Bankura district in West Bengal on Friday. The blast comes a day before voting for the first phase of the 2021 West Bengal Assembly election. Joypur is among the 38 seats that will go to the polls in the first phase tomorrow.

The TMC has blamed the Congress-Left alliance for the blast.

On the other hand, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has slammed the TMC saying the blast took place inside the party’s office while its workers were “making bombs inside the office”.The situation in the area is tense after the blast.

Violence and clashes have also been reported between workers of the TMC and BJP.

A large number of police personnel have been deployed in the area to maintain law and order. Visuals from the blast spot show the victims have suffered burn injuries all over their bodies.

(We have withheld the visuals as they are disturbing in nature.)

Meanwhile, West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankar said he pained to see the violence and demanded punishment for those found guilty.

“I am pained at violence taking place. Time for OCs and ICs @WBPolice @KolkataPolice to take all steps and act as per law. Administration and police @MamataOfficial @HomeBengal must maintain political neutrality and show commitment to rule of law. Violations will get duly punished,” he tweeted.

This time, elections to the West Bengal Assembly are being held in eight phases. Voting for the first phase will be held tomorrow and for the last phase on April 29.

Votes for all phases will be counted on May 2.

In phase 1, 38 assembly seats will go to the polls. These are Patashpur, Kanthi Uttar, Bhagabanpur, Khejuri (SC), Kanthi Dakshin, Ramnagar, Egra, Dantan, Nayagram (ST), Gopiballavpur, Jhargram, Keshiary (ST), Kharagpur, Garbeta, Salboni, Medinipur, Binpur (ST), Bandwan (ST), Balarampur, Baghmundi, Joypur, Purulia, Manbazar (ST), Kashipur, Para (SC), Raghunathpur (SC), Saltora (SC), Chhatna, Ranibandh (ST), Raipur (ST).

Leave a Comment